Frequently Asked Questions about Texas Concealed Handguns
Q: Where are you located?
A: We teach at an indoor range near FM-1960 and Champions Drive. You'll get a map to the range in your Class Confirmation.
Q: How long is the class?
A: The state requires a minimum of 10 hours, including shooting.
Q: Do I need to pre register?
A: Yes. We need a reliable class count, because we cap our classes at 20 students. You can register through our web site or by phone. We accept major credit cards and Paypal.
Q: What does the class include?
A: Your New CHL class fee includes the required 10 hours of training, range fee, photos and required paperwork.
Q: How do I apply with the State of Texas?
A: Visit the Texas DPS website and click on the Concealed Handgun License link. We cover this in the class.
Q: Do you do finger prints?
A: As of March 31, 2011, instructors can no longer do ink prints. You'll get instructions for finger prints when you apply with the State of Texas.
Q: When are your classes?
A: We hold several classes a month. Click the target logo at the top for a class schedule.
Q: How old to you have to be to get your CHL?
A: The minimum age is 21. If you are active military, the minimum age is 18.
Q: Do I need my own gun?
A: No. You may borrow a handgun, or rent one of ours for $10.00.
Q: Can my wife and I share a gun?
A: Generally, no. If you are shooting in the same relay, you must each have your own gun.
Q: How much ammo do I need?
A: You'll need 50 rounds for the proficiency test.
Q: Do I need eye and ear protection?
A: We have plenty for you to use, free of charge.
Q: Can I use a .22 for the shooting test?
A: No. The state requires a .32 caliber or larger.
Q: Can I get a Texas CHL if I have a felony.
A: A felony permanently disqualifies one from getting a CHL, but there are exceptions. Review the Eligibility Requirements for more information.